top of page

Beauty is the sole legitimate province of the poem.-Edgar Allan Poe

Poetry is when emotion has found its thought and thought has found words--Robert Frost

Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance--Carl Sandburg

I have nothing to say, I am saying it, and that is poetry--John Cage

You will find poetry nowhere unless you bring some of it with you--Joseph Joubert

Poetry is what in a poem makes you laugh, cry, prickle, be silent, makes your toe nails twinkle, makes you want to do this or that or nothing, makes you know that you are alone in the unknown world, that your bliss and suffering is forever shared and forever all your own. ~Dylan Thomas

  • joybragi84

Where Have I Been? Editing Uncle Boog and the Dogfight. Where Have You Been? Ready to Read UBatD?





Anyhow, I would have to close this blog to see, but it has been over two weeks since I have posted anything at all. Yeah, I suppose that some folks might think that I am getting lazy. Well, I am not. It's just that I have so many things going on, and I want to be writing new stuff all the time, but Kellie has looked through The Doll, and I need to edit it based on her suggestions, and I have Uncle Boog and the Dogfight, which I think I told all the readers at some point that I wrote on the fly and never edited or amended before I posted-- It needed some edits. Yes, it did!-and I am trying to get started on some new poetry. Austin McCauley publishers do not seem to be in any big hurry to get Atheist and Empty Spaces out, and that is really starting to bother me. Whew!

Uncle Boog and the Dogfight is edited. You can click on the links above to read the entire thing in one sitting if you want to do so. I've also provided a PDF link if you are one of those people who like to hold paper in your hand. I am one of those, but, oddly enough, I am one of those, but I have never been a writer wants a pen and pad. I can write on the computer. Anyway, I have posted a PDF so that you can get a good print copy of the story if you want to print it.

My friends and Gentle Readers, if you like this story or any of my other writings, please feel free to share them with your friends and acquaintances. Share them on Facebook, share them in your blogs, print them, and share them with people you see day-to-day. If you don't like my writing, I suppose share them with your enemies to irritate them. I am obviously not in this "business" to make money. I simply want people to get some enjoyment from the literary ventures that I have to share with you. I would like for us to all share together. Enjoy!

I find that I cannot exist without Poetry--without eternal poetry--half the day will not do--the whole of it--I began with a little, but habit has made me a Leviathan.-John Keats

We do not quite say that the new is more valuable because it fits in; but its fitting in is a test of its value.-T. S. Eliot

A man may praise and praise, but no one recollects but that which pleases.-George Gordon, Lord Byron

The great beauty of poetry is that it makes everything in every place interesting.-John Keats

Our faulty elder poets sacrificed the passion and passionate flow of poetry to the subtleties of intellect and to the stars of wit; the moderns to the glare and glitter of a perpetual, yet broken and heterogeneous imagery, or rather to an amphibious something, made up, half of image, and half of abstract meaning. The one sacrificed the heart to the head; the other both heart and head to point and drapery.-S. T. Coleridge

The purpose of rhythm, it has always seemed to me, is to prolong the moment of contemplation, the moment when we are both asleep and awake, which is the one moment of creation.-W. B. Yeats

bottom of page