top of page

Beauty is the sole legitimate province of the poem.-Edgar Allan Poe

Poetry is when emotion has found its thought and thought has found words--Robert Frost

Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance--Carl Sandburg

I have nothing to say, I am saying it, and that is poetry--John Cage

You will find poetry nowhere unless you bring some of it with you--Joseph Joubert

Poetry is what in a poem makes you laugh, cry, prickle, be silent, makes your toe nails twinkle, makes you want to do this or that or nothing, makes you know that you are alone in the unknown world, that your bliss and suffering is forever shared and forever all your own. ~Dylan Thomas

  • joybragi84

Wetting One's Beak

Anyway, Kellie's sister Diane Keith responded to my request for poems about birds and said that she would like one about a cardinal. Most of the poems that I have written about birds have been about cardinals. They probably are my favorite birds, followed closely by the bluebirds that nest by my window, who, ironically, I have never finished a poem about though I have started several. While I work on Diane's request for new material, here is an oldy but goody from around 2004. Please keep the requests coming. Even if I can't fulfil them all, I can always find a poem similar to the request that is already written. Also, if this is the second of the "cardinal sins," there is a first one somewhere. Would anybody like to see that one if I can find it? Enjoy. That is what poetry is about.



The Second of the Cardinal Sins


His twittering teases early dawn dreams

To wake and forget that peculiar place

Where my soul rows on silver streams

And goddess’ lips caress my face.

His lusty cry, a morning bell,

Chimes to his mate, “Chirrip! Cheree!”

She is gone; Ah -- just as well,

Her lust was never real to me,

But, oh, a little pride did swell!


And for that pride, I ask one last embrace,

One touch, one kiss, one perfumed breath, one taste

Of sweet Dream’s honeyed lips,

But his piping pierces my will;

His unkissed beak recklessly snips

The tender threads of my morning vision,

And, bobbing on my window sill,

He feels the heat of my derision,

But mistakes it for his muse’s amour,

And he sings for her another score.


Where is she now, my little Don Juan,

This grey-garbed mistress of your heart

That razes my Muse’s art to ruin

And raises your lust to such an art?

High on some limb that I can’t see

Or nestled in some flowering bush?

What has she ever done for me,

But eat my seed and amorously push

Your song into my fanciful sleeping?

You and your incessant peeping!


She’s just a dream, the immaculate bird!

She’s heard your sweet pipes and my whispered word.

See! She flies to any that call her name!

She is not Love! What a shame

To woo her with our choicest song

Only to find that we were wrong

And our role is merely a cameo;

Our dream is a one scene part.

I know this mistress, my red-winged Romeo,

She wants no mate and she will share no heart.

I find that I cannot exist without Poetry--without eternal poetry--half the day will not do--the whole of it--I began with a little, but habit has made me a Leviathan.-John Keats

We do not quite say that the new is more valuable because it fits in; but its fitting in is a test of its value.-T. S. Eliot

A man may praise and praise, but no one recollects but that which pleases.-George Gordon, Lord Byron

The great beauty of poetry is that it makes everything in every place interesting.-John Keats

Our faulty elder poets sacrificed the passion and passionate flow of poetry to the subtleties of intellect and to the stars of wit; the moderns to the glare and glitter of a perpetual, yet broken and heterogeneous imagery, or rather to an amphibious something, made up, half of image, and half of abstract meaning. The one sacrificed the heart to the head; the other both heart and head to point and drapery.-S. T. Coleridge

The purpose of rhythm, it has always seemed to me, is to prolong the moment of contemplation, the moment when we are both asleep and awake, which is the one moment of creation.-W. B. Yeats

bottom of page