top of page

Beauty is the sole legitimate province of the poem.-Edgar Allan Poe

Poetry is when emotion has found its thought and thought has found words--Robert Frost

Poetry is an echo, asking a shadow to dance--Carl Sandburg

I have nothing to say, I am saying it, and that is poetry--John Cage

You will find poetry nowhere unless you bring some of it with you--Joseph Joubert

Poetry is what in a poem makes you laugh, cry, prickle, be silent, makes your toe nails twinkle, makes you want to do this or that or nothing, makes you know that you are alone in the unknown world, that your bliss and suffering is forever shared and forever all your own. ~Dylan Thomas

  • joybragi84

"Proof" Is in the Pudding and a Couple of New Poems



Well, as you can see above, I have received the proof copy of the latest book of our poetry that I have been telling you about. I only "okayed" the proof with no revisions today, so it is not quite ready yet. Here is the back cover of the book.



For this short, 76 page book, I decided to go with the self-publishing, Print-on-Demand (POD) model, otherwise known as vanity publishing. I haven't quite settled whether this book will be available through traditional online booksellers, but I should have books available for me to give or sell to you soon. Please let me know if you would like a copy, and I will get enough to cover all requests. The list price on the book will be $9.20, but I will be able to get them for $4.60. Again, given the sales of my other four books, I may forego the price of marketing to other online sellers--unless, of course, it turns out to be free. Then, heck, why not?!?


I did go with the vanity publishing this time because of my rotten experience with the publication of Atheists and Empty Spaces. This time, I finished all the editing in two or three days rather than having to edit the edits of the editors over a period of six months like I did with A&E. I created the cover, which is just as good or better than the paid designers did for the cover of A&E, and I did it in one day, not three months. This book was ready for publication in less than two weeks. A&E took over a year. I will not have any marketing done for me on this one, so maybe you readers can help me out with getting the word out there.


This book is also unique because the publishing website recommended a larger size for the book since it was only 76 pages. The book is 8 1/2 by 11 inches; therefore, it is the size of a coloring book, which makes it very easy to read and leaves lots of room for writing notes or ideas in the margins.


Anyhow, please email me at mbt1966@yahoo.com with your mailing address if you would like a copy of the book. I should know in the next day or two when I can expect to start ordering copies.


Now, keeping up with the Poem-a-Week challenge. Here are two brand-spanking new poems. I think I have done two poems a week three times since I began this challenge. Shoot, I might have another book in a few months if I keep up this torrid pace of writing. I think these two poems speak for themselves, so I'll not post any comments after. Please send any comments, suggestions, or requests to my email, which is mentioned in the previous paragraph. As always, ENJOY!


My Shadow

 

He’s as tall as a tale in the morning.

Then, he withers like a waning moon.

If its early, he serves as my warning

Though he’s hardly a whimper by noon.

 

I’ve thought of his part as an echo.

In sounding my notions, he slips.

The words that I make he does not know,

So he’s literally an eclipse.

 

Although he will never be tender,

I’d wager he’ll always be true.

My form, he will faithfully render

Though it won’t seem the same “me” to you.

 

In the summer, he waves in the heat.

When it’s cold, he may fog with my breath.

In the daylight, we join at our feet,

But darkness brings his nightly death.

 

My shadow may never feel kisses,

But he’ll never know sadness nor sorrow.

Unaware of the dreaming he misses,

All he wants is a sunny tomorrow.

 

 And another one!


A Tornado in Arkansas

 

The cloud sucks humid vapors

Into the circling air,

And updrafts shear like ocean waves,

Tossing their foamy hair.

 

Wind currents sweep across the sky,

A dark majestic river,

And gust across the breathing land

And then are gone forever.

 

A column shoots up from a base,

A tumult slowly welling,

Concealed behind a rainy veil

That hides chaotic swelling.

 

From the tempest’s blackened caves,

A burst of sunlight gleams,

But then is doused and overwhelmed

By roiling skybound streams.

 

A funnel dangles from the cloud,

A shifting wisp of smoke

That shatters all its tail does touch

In one decisive stroke.

 

A growling sound becomes the roar

That all Arkansans dread.

A beast is born whose hunger grows

No matter what it's fed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I find that I cannot exist without Poetry--without eternal poetry--half the day will not do--the whole of it--I began with a little, but habit has made me a Leviathan.-John Keats

We do not quite say that the new is more valuable because it fits in; but its fitting in is a test of its value.-T. S. Eliot

A man may praise and praise, but no one recollects but that which pleases.-George Gordon, Lord Byron

The great beauty of poetry is that it makes everything in every place interesting.-John Keats

Our faulty elder poets sacrificed the passion and passionate flow of poetry to the subtleties of intellect and to the stars of wit; the moderns to the glare and glitter of a perpetual, yet broken and heterogeneous imagery, or rather to an amphibious something, made up, half of image, and half of abstract meaning. The one sacrificed the heart to the head; the other both heart and head to point and drapery.-S. T. Coleridge

The purpose of rhythm, it has always seemed to me, is to prolong the moment of contemplation, the moment when we are both asleep and awake, which is the one moment of creation.-W. B. Yeats

bottom of page